Luke Bryan, Florida Georgia Line, Carrie Underwood Among CMT Artist Of The Year Honorees

By: Greg Sacidor

Which country artist or artists have dominated the last 12 months? Well, CMT has decided who they think have.

On Tuesday, CMT announced that at this year’s CMT Artists of the Year special, Luke Bryan, Florida Georgia Line, Thomas Rhett, Chris Stapleton and Carrie Underwood will all be honored as the artists of the year. For Bryan, Florida Georgia Line and Underwood, this award is nothing new, but for both Rhett and Stapleton it most certainly is.

With this year’s win, Bryan becomes a five-time winner of the award, having won it now the last five years. With his fifth win, the “Kick the Dust Up” singer ties fellow country artist Jason Aldean for the most having won this award.

For Florida Georgia Line, this will mark the fourth consecutive year that they have been named one of theĀ artists of the year by CMT. While for Underwood, this will be her third time taking home the award.

Along with these five artists being name the Artists of the Year Award recipients, “Peter Pan” artist Kelsea Ballerini will be honored with the second-annual Breakout Artist of the Year Award. Last year, the first-ever edition of this award went to Chris Stapleton.



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From 92.5 XTU

92.5 XTU's Ghostwriters
92.5 XTU Concert Guide

Listen Live